Mid-May Flowers, Birds, and a Salad

Welcome to my new blog!  I previously posted at pardonmygarden.wordpress.com.  Visit there if you want to know what happened in my garden between January 2010 and May 2014.

Here are a few things I took pictures of this week.

Garden 05 18 14 087

Bulbs blooming in the garden.  I am not positive of the name, since I lost the package they came in.  They are so small I would miss them if I did not come close.

Garden 05 18 14 091

Heuchera – plum pudding surrounded by fresh green leaves.  On the left are echinacea – cone flower leaves.  The grasses are korean feather reed grass – calamagrostis brachytricha.

Garden 05 18 14 060

The lilacs have stayed looking good a long time this year.  In the background are common lilacs and they are the ones with the wonderful fragrance.  The darker lilacs are a french lilac called Charles Joly.

Garden 05 18 14 077

There are so many beautiful leaves in the garden.  Here aruncus – goatsbeard – unfurls its leaves and flower stem.  The flowers will be white soon.

Garden 05 18 14 009

Yesterday at sunrise I went to Lake Katherine.  I think this is a Great Egret, though I am not an expert.  The morning was cold and this bird seemed to be hunkered down, though looking for a meal, too.

Garden 05 18 14 017

It looks like the great blue heron is building its nest here on this island in the lake.  Maybe this wooden support was put here for this purpose.

Garden 05 18 14 022

Here is a shot with the egret and heron in the same picture.  I know that there is a white version of the great blue heron, but the great egret had black legs, so I concluded that it was the great egret.  Fun to see these birds in Florida and now here.

Garden 05 18 14 036

The geese and goslings are less exotic, but fun to watch.

Garden 05 18 14 081

I picked a variety of baby kale and lettuce from the garden and topped it with a pear, banana, strawberries and cashews.  I loved it!  The fruit was from the store, but I will have strawberries soon.

15 thoughts on “Mid-May Flowers, Birds, and a Salad

  1. Love your photo’s and your gardening stories! Glad I found you!
    Thanks for the like on my blog, hope you’ll enjoy the rest of my blog 😉

  2. Beautiful work Kristine…I would love to sample the strawberries and the kale and all the other freshest fresh veggies you grow in your backyard…you have such a beautiful backyard out there, that I am literally jealous now!

Leave a Reply

