Ajuga, Baptisia, and Columbine

April showers have brought May flowers and a lot of action from the spring perennials.  ABCs: Ajuga, Baptisia and Columbine.  I know I am mixing scientific and common names here, but that is pretty normal in my garden.  Whatever name I can remember is what I call the plants around me.

Garden 05 25 14 028

I have ajuga reptans – bugleweed – growing along the north side of the house in the shade.  It is really vibrant now and the bees have been enjoying it.

Garden 05 25 14 046

Baptisia australis – blue false indigo.  Both the blue flowers and the tender green leaves are so pretty now.  This is a native Midwest plant.

Garden 05 25 14 045

Just before the thunderstorm last week I grabbed a three-legged, round stake and put it around the base of the baptisia to keep it from bending or breaking during the storm.    It held up well.  Last year I did not do that and it was messy after the storms.  In front is catmint – nepeta ‘walker’s low’, which should start blooming soon.

Garden 05 25 14 059

Columbine has spread all over the northeast garden bed.  The large clumps are so cheery, but each spring I have to pull up a lot of baby columbine plants before they crowd out my other plants.

Garden 05 25 14 054

Bee on Columbine.  I am not sure if this is a carpenter bee or a bumble bee.

Garden 05 25 14 057

I have a few of these lavender colored columbine flowers blooming now.

Garden 05 25 14 077

 A close-up of a chive flower that I planted under the American plum bushes.

Garden 05 25 14 004

The lily of the valley are blooming now.

Garden 05 25 14 041

During this long weekend I did not want to work too hard, but yesterday was a beautiful day, so I got out and pruned the dead flowers and branches off the lilac bushes, since this is the best time to year to trim them up.  Meanwhile, my daughter sat nearby and we discussed a term paper for her summer class.  What a beautiful weekend we are having!

In the background you can see the purple ajuga as well as the lily of the valley plants along the fence.

5 thoughts on “Ajuga, Baptisia, and Columbine

  1. It was a great weekend wasn’t it. The columbine looks great, and your right about it being a cheery plant. Mine grows without a care and shrugs off drought and cold. I could use more plants like this!

  2. Hey why don’t we swap some Columbine seeds later this year?
    I have a blue/purple one and would love to have the ones in the photo 😉

Leave a Reply

