Feasting From The Garden

A big goal of our garden is to feed ourselves.  We have been eating a lot of lettuce recently, but now the spring vegetables are coming to and end, and the summer vegetables are getting going.  As far as berries go, the strawberries are mostly done, but all the other berries are abundant.

Garden 06 29 14 134

This is a picture from about a week ago, so we still had quite a few strawberries.  Today I picked a bowl of serviceberries, mulberries, raspberries, and a few blueberries.  We usually add them to our oatmeal in the morning, but sometimes I eat them in the evening with a little ice cream…  The view from the kitchen window shows you the change from those winter snow pictures!

Garden 06 29 14 079

Juvenile robin in the serviceberry bush – Amalanchier laevis.  There were several robins in the serviceberry bush having a great snack this morning.  Now that the bush is becoming a tree, and there are a lot of plants near the base, it is hard for me to harvest all the berries without getting eaten by mosquitoes.  Anyway, I am glad to share this abundance with the birds.

Garden 06 29 14 040

The neighbor’s raspberries are ripening and I am getting a handful each day.  I eat the ones on my side of the fence and sometimes reach over for a few on the other side if they don’t seem to be eating them!

Garden 06 29 14 086

The vegetable garden is getting crowded now.  I need to clear out some of the spring vegetables to make more room.  In the patch in front that was covered by the hoop over the winter we are still eating a little of the kale and some lettuce, which is starting to bolt.  I have planted a cantaloupe, and if it takes off I will clear out some of these old plants and let the melon take over.  In the main garden you can see how tall one of the tomato plants is already.

Garden 06 29 14 006

Looking closer in the garden you can see the two tomato plants to the left of the path.  I did not plan very well this year and the zucchini is already blossoming and filling up its spot to the left of the tomatoes.  It is going to be a challenge to get in there to harvest!  I plan to clear out the turnips and lettuce on the right of the path soon.  I am thinking of making a turnip salad, sort of like potato salad, and see how that goes!  On the front left are brussel sprouts and in the very far back the cucumbers are blossoming and getting going.

Garden 06 29 14 119

Tokyo cross turnips.  It looks like I’d better get these harvested!

Garden 06 29 14 005

The other day I brought one of these big turnips in for Dan to cook along with his kale and collards.  When I started washing it, four little earwigs crawled out. So we always have to watch what we bring in the house with us.

Garden 06 29 14 034

Here is a sink full of bok choy we sautéed up with some garlic and soy sauce the other night.  It looks like an earwig or spider was on the back of one of the leaves on the left, too.

Garden 06 29 14 065

I thought I had bought a nine-pack of collards this spring, but when I got home I noticed the little cauliflower label I had missed earlier.  We ate the leaves as collard leaves for a month or so, but now are leaving them as a little protection for the cauliflower that is developing.  Some of the plants have white cauliflower that looks ready to eat pretty soon.  I have never grown this before, so I need to do some research.

Garden 06 29 14 078

I planted my pole beans on the usual green teepee poles I have used the last few years.  But every year the teepee gets too heavy and it all starts falling over, so I bought some large stakes and we put up additional material for the beans to grow on.  The incrediball hydrangea is looking great right now.  In the back you can see the orange butterfly weed, which had a visit from a monarch butterfly today.

Garden 06 29 14 115

I planted a lot of bush beans, that are yellow wax beans.  There are a lot of bean flowers and little beans developing now.  I like these little yellow marigolds, too.

Garden 06 29 14 053

I was hoping to put some compost on the vegetables this weekend, but it was not quite ready yet, so I turned it and with the coming hot weather it should be ready before long.

10 thoughts on “Feasting From The Garden

    • Thanks! I should keep planting lettuce, but I seem to have run out of room. Maybe I can dig up more grass! I think I will plant more in July, somewhere in the yard, so I will have lettuce for the fall.

  1. Your garden looks so productive, and I’m jealous of the cauliflower. I’ve tried two years now and no luck but my fingers are crossed for the third try!

  2. Your cauliflower and turnips look incredible! I’d love to try lettuce and kale one day, but for now I remain intimidated by it because it is so hot where I live (106 today!). Good luck with the cauliflower!

    • We just cooked up the cauliflower last night. I cut it from the plant with my kids and an hour later it was on the table, just steamed with salt. The flavor was really great, which somehow surprised me!

    • Thanks! I still have four big cauliflowers to eat, so I need to be creative. I am not sure how long they stay good on the plants. I have made two different cauliflower soups and once I just steamed it with salt and pepper, which turn out great, too.

Leave a Reply

