Red Hot Poker and Butterfly Weed

I have been trying to attract butterflies to the garden and give them some habitat to survive, since much of their habitat has been destroyed.  This time of year I start looking for caterpillars and butterflies.  I like to put a lot of bright colored flowers in the garden to draw the butterflies in.

Garden 06 29 14 137

Red hot pokers flowers, butterfly weed, and Russian sage.  I like orange in the garden!  When I sit at my desk by the window I look out at this.

Southeast Wisconsin Trip 124

Pollinator on butterfly weed.  I have two large stands of this plant in the yard.  Today I was standing on the patio when I saw a monarch butterfly on our butterfly weed right by the patio.  I tried to stay still in case it wanted to deposit some eggs, but it flew away.  That is the first monarch I have seen in two years.  I hope it comes back!

Garden 06 29 14 011

Shasta daisies.  I got rid of almost all the Shasta daisies I had in my garden, but left a couple just because they are cheery.

Garden 06 29 14 072

Coreopsis ‘moonbeam’ with blue hill salvia.

Garden 06 29 14 084

‘Incrediball’ hydrangea.

Garden 06 29 14 091

We took a walk this morning starting out from the Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center in the forest preserve.  Up ahead is Long John Slough, a little lake where we stopped to watch a variety of wildlife.

Garden 06 29 14 098

As we stood at the shore we saw something that at first we thought was a beaver.  Then we thought is was an otter.  We finally realized that it was a muskrat.  There was a muskrat couple busy working this morning.  This one is swimming with a bunch of grass in its mouth back to the other muskrat.  We could not see the den, or whatever a muskrat home is called.  The water lilies were beautiful today.  In any case it was a gorgeous day to stand on the shore and watch the activity.

Garden 06 29 14 100

Toadstools in the forest.

We forgot our bug spray in the car and the horse flies and mosquitoes started chasing us at this point!

Garden 06 29 14 106

Unidentified butterfly.  The picture is a bit fuzzy, but I included it because it did not look familiar.  I was not sure how to identify this butterfly with its wings closed…

The zinnias are starting to bloom in the yard, so that should start bringing the butterflies in.

6 thoughts on “Red Hot Poker and Butterfly Weed

  1. Beautiful picture of the toadstool and I love the red hot poker. I bought two small plants which still need to get into the ground. Maybe I’ll have blooms of my own next year!

  2. Just found your blog and I love all your pictures. Thanks for putting in the time to make such a wonderful site. So enjoyable to read.

  3. Thanks for visiting my Waltzing Australia blog — because it led me here. Great blog — and not far from where I live, by the looks of it. You have identified for me a number of flowers and insects I didn’t know. Great blog.

Leave a Reply

