Random September Images

It’s that time between summer and fall.  The temperatures have been much cooler, but I have quite a few plants that bloom in the fall, so the yard is colorful.  Here are a few shots a took over the past two weeks.

Garden 09 19 14 013

We watched the great blue heron fishing at Lake Katherine.  We made some clicking noises to get it to turn its head.

Garden 09 19 14 002

We have had very few birds in the yard, though there are plenty at Lake Katherine.  We had other visitors though.  This chipmunk was around for a week or two, but seems to be gone now.

Garden 09 19 14 046

Instead of birds we have had quite a few resident squirrels around, who are busy gathering, burying, and munching on nuts.  I love those fluffy tails.

Garden 09 19 14 081

Red-spotted purple butterfly.  The butterflies continue to visit the sedum mostly.  My theory is that our sedum is so popular with the pollinators because it probably is not a cultivar.  I am not sure if that is true, but I have not seen so many flies and bees on the other darker colored sedum in the neighborhood.

Monarch Festival 1

Lake Katherine had its Monarch Festival last Sunday.  On Tuesday I went for a walk there and there were still quite a few monarchs under the tent.  I am not sure what this plant is.  Anyway it was very popular with the butterflies.  They were also on the marigolds.  Yesterday as I sat outside a monarch flew by, so I am glad they are still around.

Garden 09 19 14 071

 Back in the yard, an eastern black swallowtail visited the sedum.  I had trouble getting a good shot in the sunlight, but it was fun to see, since we have often have black swallowtail caterpillars in the parsley.

Garden 09 19 14 044

We have three really large curly parsley plants.  I saw a black swallowtail caterpillar on one of the plants within the last two weeks.  I am hoping that the butterfly is laying some eggs here.  I have plenty of parsley chopped and in the freezer for the winter.

Garden 09 19 14 017

I had my third basil harvest last week and made another batch of pesto.  I mixed in a little parsley, too.  The juice of a whole lemon gave it a great fresh taste.  I am eating it on crackers now as I write this!

Garden 09 19 14 075

I decided to cut down the sunflower.  It was drooping over the neighbor’s yard and not that attractive.   That was the biggest sunflower I have ever grown.

Garden 09 19 14 010

I took this spider web picture at Lake Katherine.  It is that time of year…  I brought in a large spider with some swiss chard this week, but managed to use a container to get it back outside again.

Garden 09 21 14 006

The leaves are gone on the melon vine, but the cantaloupes are still connected to it and I think getting some nutrients or water through the vine.  These melons are very small, but maybe they would be edible.  We are still getting a few wax beans and there are green tomatoes that might ripen if we get some sun.  The peppers are doing well and are tasty.

Garden 09 21 14 001

Solidago rugosa ‘fireworks’ – goldenrod.  The goldenrod is at its peak now.  I have three stands that brighten up the yard.  Just to the left of this plant are purple asters that are getting going.  Maybe I will get a picture of that next week.

Cooking:  I cooked up some vegan red lentil soup yesterday that included a butternut squash, though not one that I grew.  Good stuff, though a little spicier that I prefer.

Snake:  There have been several sightings of snakes, but they are all very small brown snakes.  Once in the middle of the compost pile and once one stopped to sun on the wood beam, before continuing into the undergrowth.

2 thoughts on “Random September Images

Leave a Reply

