Warbler and Goldfinch find Lunch

This afternoon a palm warbler (I think) and I took an interest in each other.  I was shooting pictures and the warbler was gradually coming closer to me.  It is hard to focus on a little active bird, but here is what I captured.

Garden 10 05 14 066

Palm warbler on solidago rugosa ‘fireworks’ goldenrod.

Garden 10 04 14 019

Here is what that corner of the garden looks like.  I have been enjoying it from my office window all week.  New England purple dome asters, goldenrod ‘fireworks’, and zinnias.

Garden 10 04 14 008

The day I took this picture the asters were hosting a grasshopper, a bumble bee, and a fly.  The fly might make a nice snack.  Would the grasshopper be too big or would it be delicious?

Garden 10 05 14 061

Palm warbler hopping my directions and stretching to see something.  These birds are passing through during their migration.

Garden 10 05 14 025

Goldfinch eating coneflower seeds.  It is fun to see the goldfinch enjoying these seeds.  Sometimes I want to pull down these dried up flowers because these aren’t very attractive, but when I have the goldfinch in the yard it is fun to leave them for him.  It could be a female or a male that is starting to lose its bright yellow summer color.  Not sure.

Garden 10 05 14 073

What can you see in this picture.  Look closely….

The rabbit is baaack…

I am enjoying the alyssum and the chrysanthemums I planted in the spring, along with the orange and yellow zinnias.

Garden 10 05 14 048

No sense spending a long time chasing him out of the yard when we don’t know where s/he is getting in.  Nice fur.

Garden 10 05 14 001

Meanwhile, there was a frost warning last night, though no frost yet.  So it is time to be vigilant and start bringing in as much of the harvest as possible.

Garden 10 05 14 030

Now that the wax beans are slowing down it is easier to see and enjoy the marigolds.  I also brought in a bucket of pole beans that had dried on the vine and shelled those today.

Garden 10 04 14 012

I think this is a cabbage worm.  We have had soo many cabbage moths in the yard this summer, with all the kale and cauliflower that we have been growing.  I am surprised I have not seem more of these worms.

Garden 10 05 14 008

Walking around Lake Katherine this morning I decided to looks more closely at the ducks to see if there were any that were not mallards, and I think this is an American coot.  The lighting was not great, but it has a black body and a white bill.

12 thoughts on “Warbler and Goldfinch find Lunch

  1. as always – your yarden is absolutely marvelous….amazing how much life is out there and most of us pass it by and pay it no mind.

      • i read sometime/someplace “yarden” and it seems to fit us people with yard gardens doesn’t it!!!! you really are great inspiration…ive planted a ton of new things this year – my fav being amaranth and sunchokes which i tried for the first time. i thought the birds would enjoy the amaranth but as of yet they don’t seem to be bothering with it. i didn’t get to the hoop house though…..

    • For the rabbit, I tried to choose a picture that showed he had to interrupt his lunch and wondered if there was any danger. As for birds, we have some nice mourning doves, but the pigeons live under the bridge two blocks away and never visit the yard.

  2. The sidewalk border looks great, as well as the goldenrod corner. The pictures of your little visitor also came out well, I never even come close to getting a decent picture of all those little guys!

    • Thanks! That rabbit is much too tame… I need to borrow the neighbor dog. Haha. I have to stand still for a while for the birds to get used to me before they are close enough for me to take pictures of.

Leave a Reply

