Autumn Vegetables and Ornamental Grasses

Last Sunday I pulled up the tomatoes, beans, and zucchini, and after the hard frost last night I pulled up the cherry tomato plant, the eggplants, and the peppers.  Still, there are vegetables to eat until the really cold weather comes.

Garden 11 02 14 077

I left some stumps when I pulled out my really huge cauliflowers earlier in the year.  The leaves are still edible and this week I noticed all these baby cauliflowers starting to form.  I’m not sure how big they will get before I will need to eat them, but it was fun to see!

Garden 11 02 14 064

Winterbor kale.  The leaves will die when it gets really, really cold, but so far each spring the stalk has started sprouting again, for a second season of kale.

Garden 11 02 14 045

We have four lacinato kale plants around the yard and they have kind of a tropical feel to them.

Garden 11 02 14 108

Here is what the lacinato kale looked like after the frost.  However by late afternoon the kale was looking normal again and is not giving up that quickly.  We cooked a big pot of kale soup yesterday.  Of course it had a lot of other vegetables and beans in the soup.

Garden 11 02 14 063

I left a half-dead turnip in the ground earlier in the summer and while I was not paying attention it grew big.  The leaves are looking a little tired at mid-day, but this made some nice soup, earlier this week.  You can tell we eat a lot of vegetable bean soup!

Garden 11 02 14 102

The brussel sprouts also don’t mind a little frost.

Garden 11 02 14 103

I have been cutting of 6 or 7 sprouts every time I make soup, but there is a lot more to eat all the way up the stalk.

Garden 11 02 14 113

Frosty turf grass.  We used the mower to mulch up all the leaves on the grass and got the compost pile heaped up again.

Garden 11 02 14 069

The little bluestem grass, a native grass, turned red/orange recently and has been capturing my attention.

Garden 11 02 14 041

The ‘morning light’ miscanthus grass must have been about 5 feet tall this year.  The seed heads are red now.  We have two of these large plants in our yard.  They add privacy, beauty, and provide straw for paths and the strawberry bed in the spring.

Garden 11 02 14 136

The sparrows decided to move back into the bluebird house again.  One of the bedding materials they love are the seed heads of the zebra grass, which are quite soft.  The sparrows perform some interesting acrobatics bending the grass stalk and trying to break off a bit of the fluffy stuff to carry away.  The zebra grass is probably 7 or more feet tall.

Garden 11 02 14 140

Sparrow gathering zebra grass seed head for nest.  They don’t seem interested in the crabapples.

Garden 11 02 14 135

The squirrel was interested in crabapples though.

Garden 11 02 14 052

Sparrows feed on burning bush berries.  One day I was sitting at my office desk and heard a scratching sound.  I was curious enough to pull up the shade and I found a flock of sparrows gobbling up the red berries on the burning bush – Euonymus alatus.  These plants are somewhat invasive locally, so I really want to get rid of them, but have not gotten around to it yet.

Garden 11 02 14 048

I noticed this black swallowtail caterpillar, that did not look like it made it, on my parsley this week.  However, I was listening to “Nature” this week on TV and heard about caterpillars in the arctic that freeze and thaw for 7 years before they are finally ready to turn into moths, so I wonder about my little guy.  If he is dead I hope a bird had a good meal.

Winter Vegetable Hoop:  I probably won’t be putting the hoop up when the snow flies.  The kale that was under the hoop last winter has grown large and is spreading over the lawn, so I don’t think I can corral is back to the area where I put the holes for the stakes for the hoop.  Still, we will see what happens.  I might just throw the plastic over the kale and hold it down with some rocks to keep the kale edible for as long as possible.

6 thoughts on “Autumn Vegetables and Ornamental Grasses

  1. hmmmm. so you harvested the cauliflower and it went ahead and grew another couple heads?
    I should post a picture of my freeloading plants. All year they’ve been growing along with nothing to show. A few are making heads now, but they’ll be too late. Grrrrrr.

  2. Brustle sprouts!
    I’ve never seen it in plant form, I recall reading you kind of ‘grafted’ the cauliflower – did you do that with most of your plants? Or did you buy them as seeds/from a nursery?

  3. In general I buy transplants and stick them in the ground. That is what I did for Brussel sprouts and cauliflower. I put seeds in for beans, zucchini, some lettuce, cucumbers. Otherwise I order my tomatoes and peppers and they come in the mail.

Leave a Reply

