A Few Of My Favorite Things

Seeing a cardinal on a snowy day, warm woolen mittens, silver white winters that melt into spring….  The snow is melting today, but I don’t think we should start thinking about spring yet.

Garden 01 17 15 103

I love walking around Lake Katherine.  These past weeks there have been a lot of geese and ducks in the one part of the lake with less ice because of a bubbling fountain.  Many of the geese were standing around on one foot, like the ones in the back.   I think the tree is an alder.

Garden 01 17 15 110

Tree shadows at Lake Katherine.

Garden 01 17 15 060

The birdbath shadow tells us it is a little after noon.

Garden 01 17 15 019

Snow on sedum.

Garden 01 17 15 037

Snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes. My camera had a hard time focusing for a snowflake pictures.

Garden 01 17 15 071

Frosty morning.  Hicksii yew in the front and American plum branches behind.

Garden 01 17 15 080

This was taken through a screen window, but there is bark missing from the chinquapin oak trunk.  Is it normal for it to fall off?  Would an animal eat it?  What animal?  We have never had deer in the yard.

Garden 01 17 15 066

We finally made an agreement with a tree service to get our silver maple removed.  It is probably at least 60 years old.  We would love to keep it, but don’t want it falling on our house or the utility lines in a storm.  Maybe they will do the job if the snow melts.  Our plan is to plant a replacement of some type in the spring, so we want to give the ground a bit of time to recover.

Garden 01 17 15 094

Winter sky.  Maybe someone is flying to Florida…

Garden 01 17 15 014

One day I noticed this pillbug on the outside of the cyclamen planter.  Has it been in the plant all this time?  Did it find the plant in its wanderings and decide to hang out?  Why am I interested in bugs??  Actually, I just learned that it is a crustacean.

Winter:  I don’t like to shovel snow or drive in snow, but I have really enjoyed looking out of my window when I am working and seeing the beautiful white snow covering everything.  I also really like walking in the snow with warm boots!

Leave a Reply

