Nasturtiums, Goldenrod and the Forest Preserve

We have had beautiful fall weather! Here is a little of what is happening in the yard.

IMG_1277

Nasturtiums and alyssum.  I never seem to have enough nasturtiums in the garden, but thankful for what I have!

IMG_1256

Solidago rugosa ‘Fireworks’ goldenrod.  It is that time of year again, and I still have three stands of this goldenrod.

IMG_1288

Wasp on goldenrod.  I tried to figure out what kind of wasp this is, but was not successful.  The goldenrod is covered by flies, bees and wasps.

IMG_1250

Zebra grass at sunrise from kitchen window.

IMG_1342

Viburnum dentatum ‘Chicago lustre’ bushes loaded with berries.  Bird food.

IMG_1269

Pink turtlehead flower.  Bee food.

IMG_1332

Daddy Longlegs spider in the pole beans.  Every time I have gone to pick green beans I see the daddy longlegs spiders scurrying away.  This must be their home.  When I looked for them to take pictures today I found three of them.  Creepy!

IMG_1229

When it rains the toad comes out.  This guy came all the way up on the patio.

IMG_1295

We went for a walk in the Cook County Forest Preserve on this cloudy morning.  They are celebrating 100 years.  This was at the Little Red School house trail and we stopped to watch the birds in the prairie.  I believe the yellow flowers are compass plants.

IMG_1293

The goldfinch was getting some seeds for breakfast.

IMG_1306

We spent some time looking out at the Long John Slough, which was covered with lily pads in many places.  There was a cormorant and a variety of skittish ducks that we spooked.

IMG_1299

We saw two beavers.  This beaver swam across the slough toward us and kept an eye on us while it munched on lily pads.

IMG_1313

We came across a nuthatch as we walked through the woods.  We had trouble trying to get pictures of it as it climbed the tree.

IMG_1321

We spent a while trying to get bird pictures, but we were not very successful.  I put this picture in because I think it is a male hairy woodpecker, and I think this is the first time I have gotten a picture of one.

Enjoy autumn!!

8 thoughts on “Nasturtiums, Goldenrod and the Forest Preserve

  1. My favourite season! Our place is festooned with spider webs (not sure what kind of spiders). Asters and hardy cyclamen are putting on a show. Bewick’s wrens and sparrows around; I’m hoping the wrens are the ones that built a nest in a shoe on the back porch this summer and hatched out a brood.

    • Sounds wonderful! We have a few asters and maybe I will get a picture for next week. My cyclamen is coming back after the summer, but is a house plant, so getting ready for a Christmas show with that. And yes, spiders are everywhere!

  2. It’s amazing how much life you can find in your own garden when you put a welcome mat out and then start looking around!
    I think beavers are one of the coolest animals. They really leave an impact on the landscape, yet I always feel it’s for the better! (unless you’re a tree)

Leave a Reply

