Autumn Walk Near Hidden Lake

There are a lot of trails in the forest preserves near us.  Last week I tried a new trail near hidden lake.

IMG_1579

After my walk I sat in the car and ate some lunch watching the deer grazing nearby.  Behind the grasses on the left-hand side is a lake hidden by tall rushes.

IMG_1531

Walking around the lake I took a picture of some distant ducks.  On the screen now I think these are wood ducks, that I have only seen on TV.  Sorry the picture is so small.

IMG_1539

Walking through the fall colors with my jacket and gloves on a beautiful day made me really happy.

IMG_1544

The path led me by this small lake.  Quite a few birds were rustling around the shore.

IMG_1546

With some effort I managed to get this bird picture near the lake.  Is it a swamp sparrow?

IMG_1560

I saw this deer along the trail.  We looked at each other for about a minute, while I took various pictures.

IMG_1581

The trail is near some horse stables.  This was the only horse I saw that day.

IMG_1587

Hope you have been able to enjoy some fall colors these days!

Leave a Reply

