Garfield Park Conservatory

Yesterday was a cold, wind-chilling kind of day, so I decided to visit the Garfield Park Conservatory in Chicago for the first time.  Although a lot of other people had the same idea it did not feel crowded.  There was plenty of room for us to spread out, and yet share the wonder of the space, as a community of northern winter dwellers reveling in the lush green warmth for a few hours.

IMG_2778

Lipstick Palm from Sumatra.

There were a number of different palms in this large room, but this one caught my eye.

IMG_2755

Entering the Palm House was a piece of art called “portal,” made of mirrors.  Everything was planted so beautifully.

IMG_2763

At a little pool the coins had been arranged in such a cute way.

Happy Valentine’s Day!

IMG_2771

This is just one example of all the amazing kinds of foliage you could see at every turn.

IMG_2784

This pink flower was blooming in the Show House.  I could not find the label on the tree.  Please identify it if you can.  The show house was full of bulbs in bloom and Azaleas.

IMG_2792

The next room was the Aroid House.  I loved this cute pool with a bench.  There were benches everywhere where one could chat or just relax and take it all in.  Some of the leaves in this room were huge.

IMG_2810

The Desert House had a fantastic collection of cacti and succulents.  The dry heat felt great and made you want to hang around and look at the crazy plants.

IMG_2826

In the Children’s garden the paths were just the right size for kids, so they were discovering that area on their own.  So cute!

IMG_2839

The next room was “Sugar from the Sun.”  There was a little red mangrove area where the kids were fascinated by the gold fish.  This room was full of vines and fruit bearing trees.

IMG_2769

Bananas

IMG_2834

Papayas

IMG_2847

Finally, my favorite, the Fern Room.

IMG_2868

A cute couple were getting their picture taken in a beautiful setting.

IMG_2849

This picture talks about the carboniferous age.  I looked it up and that was between around 3.6 and 3 million years ago.  A time when coal beds were formed.

IMG_2851

I loved all the moss and the wide variety of ferns.

IMG_2857

This is looking back across the lagoon from the other side.  Behind me would be the waterfall and various streams that feed the lagoon.  This conservatory was constructed between 1906 and 1908.  Recently the ceiling had to be repaired after a storm, I believe.

IMG_2844

I know that red roses are standard for Valentine’s day, but I love the variety of flowers that capture the eye.

IMG_2872

Happy Valentine’s Day!

And I hope you are rejuvenated by connecting with nature today.  It looks like we are getting several inches of snow today, so I might go out and check that out, as well!

6 thoughts on “Garfield Park Conservatory

  1. I just love conservatories. I know I’ve been to one in the Chicago area but I don’t think it was Garfield Park. I’m thinking it was Lincoln Park. In any case, they’re a great retreat in the winter and I’m hoping to get to the local one next weekend. Thanks for sharing your visit!

Leave a Reply

