Mid-May Meandering

When I get outside I never know what I will catch my attention.

IMG_3564

This week I saw several white crowned sparrows.  This one was at Lake Katherine.

IMG_3456

This white crowned sparrow was hopping around our backyard.

IMG_3548

I always visit the ephemeral pond near Lake Katherine to see what’s happening.  This mallard duck was having a quiet evening moment on the bridge there.

IMG_3550

Mallard posing at ephemeral pond.  When the weather heats up the pond dries up, but meanwhile it is great for dragonflies, tadpoles, and water skimmer bugs.

IMG_3553

Posing mallard

IMG_3568

Other ducks were enjoying the evening around the lake.  I was enjoying a nice stroll myself.

IMG_3595

What kind of duck is this with fancy head feathers?  Or is there some molting going on?

IMG_3558

Song sparrow

IMG_3617

I took the kitchen scraps to the compost pile and came upon this brown snake.  What a wonderful place to get a meal of bugs and then rest in the sun.

IMG_3622

I disturbed the snake enough that it slid out of the compost and into the chives.  I think it was maybe 14 to 16 inches long and one of the bigger ones I have seen in the yard.  Look at the strawberries and oregano go to town!

IMG_3627

Snake resting in the chives.

Well, these are a few things I saw this week!

8 thoughts on “Mid-May Meandering

    • Thank you! I like snakes best when not too close and when I am not surprised. I am always looking for then in the yard, as I know they are part of my ecosystem, but I only see them a few times a year.

Leave a Reply

