Spring Variety and the Great NW

The bio-diversity in our yard and the beauty of spring make us happy!

IMG_3738

Chestnut-sided Warbler.  I looked out the window and saw a different looking bird and I could hear a bird call that was new to me.  The little warbler was flitting around the Chinquapin oak tree.

IMG_3749

I zoomed in, but had trouble getting a clear picture of the warbler.

IMG_3754

This shot is a little blurry, but shows the clear markings on the bird so I could identify it.

IMG_3732

While I was scanning the trees for better shots of the warbler I spotted the chipmunk in the crabapple tree.  Cute!

IMG_3788

Here is the drain pipe where the chipmunk runs to hide when I come out into the yard.

IMG_3764

Next to the drain is a little garden where I have planted some romaine lettuce and parsley.  I just love the blue fescue grass that is like a crazy hairdo.  The pink prairie phlox – phlox pilosa – is pretty now.  Other plants are butterfly weed, dragon’s blood sedum, and lady’s mantle.

IMG_3790

I think I got most of the vegetables planted.  Thank you Dan for digging the grass out of the beds!  The seeds have been watered.  Now we just need sun and rain to get things going.

IMG_3768

If you zoom in from the last picture you can see our little meadow, where we let the grass grow and have a few native flowers and a tiny hickory tree.  We keep expanding it or shrinking it each year.

IMG_3777

Looking across the garden another way you can see the giant rhubarb patch.  It looks like it is time to make some rhubarb sauce!

IMG_3787

Sage is blooming.  It might be ‘May Night’ or some other cultivar.

IMG_3784

Plum pudding huechera and Korean feather reed grass Calamagrostis brachytricha.

IMG_3635

Lupine in Spokane, WA.  We took a trip to the state of Washington last week for a wedding and enjoyed all the lupine in Beth and Todd’s garden.

IMG_3655

The wedding was outside and the marmots kept us entertained while waiting for the main event.

IMG_3711

We drove from Spokane to Seattle and stopped at a rest area for this gorgeous view.

IMG_3714

In Seattle this pink climbing rose was blooming outside Tim and Andrea’s place.  I don’t have roses in my yard, so maybe I have forgotten how nice they are, but this was one of the most beautiful roses I have seen.

Slugs:  I was asked about slugs in the garden.  This used to be a big issue for us and I tried various solutions.  I just realized that I no longer really have this problem.  I think the reason is that the little brown snake lives in our yard, probably attracted by our open compost pile full of insects and worms.  The snake probably roams at night and takes care of the slugs!

2 thoughts on “Spring Variety and the Great NW

  1. What a great time of year and it’s so nice to see such a variety of wildlife right around the house. It takes a little more work protecting the really good stuff (like strawberries!) but I think it’s completely worth it. Nice rhubarb!

    • How do you protect your strawberries? I guess I share with the wildlife most of the time, since I get a lot of strawberries. But sometimes I am sorry when a beautiful strawberry is half eaten!

Leave a Reply

