June Blooms

There is a lot of color in the garden now.

IMG_4159

Achillea (Yarrow)

IMG_4122

Pulling back you can see the yarrow under the oak tree along with other blooms.  I forgot to stake up the yarrow and it can get kind of messy later on, but it is beautiful this time of year.  I just cut it way back when the blooms die.

IMG_4133

Heliopsis helianthoides false sunflower ‘summer sun’

IMG_4135

False sunflowers keep blooming for months as long as I cut back the dead flowers.

IMG_4156.JPG

The gaillardia blanket flowers started blooming this past week.

IMG_4158

Zooming in for a close up, it looks like a very little spider has been busy and caught a tasty meal.

IMG_4181

Dark red iris

IMG_4172

Cranesbill geranium ‘Rozanne’

IMG_4129

Digitalis purpurea foxgloves.  The foxgloves cheer us up and are favorites for bumblebees and hummingbirds.

IMG_4167

I went to check on the raspberries, which are just behind the foxgloves and came across this insect.  It looked a bit like a dragonfly, but close up it also looks like a mosquito.  It might be a crane fly.

IMG_4143

Our America plum trees are sticky this year with some kind of aphid or something.  Anyway a large number of ladybugs have arrived and are scouring the leaves.

IMG_4146

Although we had a lot of plums last year, unfortunately that is not the case this year.  The plums seem to be gradually being destroyed by something.

IMG_4115

We have been picking many romaine lettuce leaves.  In the back left is a large wild kale plant that I planted from seed last fall, so that it would be ready this spring to eat.  The potatoes on the left came up unplanned.  I guess I missed harvesting a few last year.  You might be able to see the large mint plant behind the lettuce.  I pulled a lot of mint up out of the garden this spring and am always whacking it back.

IMG_4177

My Arab garden friends were not impressed with my mint.  Apparently it is the wrong type for mint tea.  So they brought me the correct type of mint, which I put it in a pot in the ground for now.  I might pull up my old mint and get this new variety in the garden….when I get time.

IMG_4123

I have a lot of tomato cages up getting ready for the coming vegetable action.  We put the pole bean structure up and the beans are growing.  The clematis is blooming on the back wall.  June is here.

IMG_3806

See the bunny?  It is watching us.  Dan and I are trying various things to get rid of this little guy, but have not been successful yet.  I am hoping we get it outside the fence before it eats too many new plants….

8 thoughts on “June Blooms

  1. Looking wonderful. Gardening seems to be enjoying what is working well and accepting that not everything, like your plums, will be at their best in any one year. I love the red iris and the clematis!

    • Time flies when I am watching bees and butterflies. We had a family rabbit chase yesterday and got the bunny and a large rabbit out the gates and closed the fence. Since the large rabbit was able to get in yesterday we may continue to have rabbits, but at least the little bunny is gone for a while….!

Leave a Reply

