Praying Mantis, Spider, and Forest Restoration

I have been looking around the yard for a praying mantis this summer and I finally found my first one.

img_5876

Yesterday I noticed this praying mantis in the tall Miscanthus ornamental grass. Its head was following me as I tried to get a good photo.  I am not sure if this is a Chinese mantis or a praying mantis that is native to Illinois.

img_5933

There are a lot of little grasshoppers like the one in this picture in our little unmowed meadow.  That was why I started looking for a hungry praying mantis.

img_5965

While I was looking around in the meadow I saw this black and yellow garden spider.

img_5957

Here is the view of the spider from the other side.  If you look closely you can see the spider web.

img_5943

Today I went looking for the praying mantis again.  It was not in the miscanthus, but I found if in the mums that are  getting ready to bloom.

img_5945

I will have to keep an eye out for her egg sac when I clean up the garden this fall.  I enjoy having these mostly beneficial insects around.

img_5931

I have not seen any monarch caterpillars on the swamp milkweed, but the aphids are certainly invading.  I guess something will be interested in an aphid lunch…

img_5903

Yesterday was such a rainy day.  It has been dark, cool and rainy all week.  I guess the house sparrow was able to sit out in the rain.

img_5928

The rain seemed to benefit the nasturtium leaves that are gorgeously green.

img_5900

This picture is taken through the screen on the office window.  I can watch the hummingbirds on the pineapple sage, though they are too fast to capture in a picture.  The tall plant in back is brussel sprouts.

img_5972

Here is a little closer look at the brussel sprouts plant.  The zinnias continue to attract the hummingbird and butterflies.

img_5970

Painted lady butterfly on pink zinnia

img_5887

A century old oak tree was but down across the street from us this week, as it was too close to their house.  There will be fewer leaves to rake, but fewer leaves for the compost pile, too.

img_5879

I have not had many chances to get out and look for migrating birds this week.  But I barely captured this hawk flying over the neighborhood.

img_5980

A group of ten of us volunteered today to clear out honeysuckle bushes at the Palos Forest Preserve.

img_5981

Here is a cleared out area surrounded by brush piles on either side.  We were not able to burn the brush piles today, because there was not enough wind to blow the smoke away, so someone will have to have a bonfire another time.

img_5979

This is an area of the forest that was cleared earlier.

Leave a Reply

