Look Closely

What a beautiful fall day! Here are a few pictures of things I saw today.

img_6002

Small red and blue insect on small nasturtium leaf.  This critter was so small I almost missed it, but I got out my camera to try to magnify it a bit.  I took a quick look in Illinois insects and did not see a picture that looked like this.  It might be in a grasshopper or tree hopper family with its yellow legs and orange behind.  Though of course it could be a flying object.

img_6006

I am not sure if this helps, but from the side you can see a black line around the head.

img_6014

I have been waiting all summer to see a black swallowtail caterpillar on my parsley and today I saw two of them!

img_5995

I saw three different kinds of bees on my asters today.

img_5983

White snakeroot plant.  I guess this seed was dropped by a bird into the garden and the plant was blooming before I noticed it.  I saw some white snakeroot in the prairie of the forest preserve today and I guess the bees like it.  It is poisonous to cattle and humans if we drink milk from cattle that have eaten it in the pasture.  Apparently the roots were used for snake bites in traditional medical practices.

img_5990

I went to Spear Woods in the Palos Forest Preserves this morning for a nature walk and talk about the Palos Restoration Project.  I had never been to this part of the forest preserve before and enjoyed the walk led by someone who has been working on this site for 26 years to restore the native habitat.

img_5991

We did some seed collection of three plants: blazing star, lead plant, and rattlesnake master.  All ages were involved from elementary school to retired people.  I think I am finding my people…  Though I would love to spend some time with birders, too…

11 thoughts on “Look Closely

  1. Love that you had swallowtail caterpillars. I also plant dill, fennel, and rue. One year, I collected the caterpillars and housed them in an old aquarium with a screened lid. They overwinter here and I had 93 in the chrysalis stage by the end of fall. I couldn’t wait til spring that year!
    I know what you mean by “finding my people”. I love working with people with the same passion.

Leave a Reply

