Fall Insect Life

The coral mums are attracting a lot of insect action.  Some visitors may be looking for nectar and some may be attracted to the deteriorating plants.

img_6218

Ailanthus webworm moth

img_6256

The mums are beautiful from a distance, but many flowers are past their prime.

img_6212

A honey bee of some sort coming for nectar.

img_6243

Spotted cucumber beetle

img_6226

This hover fly appeared to be mostly dead and the fly was checking out both the flower and the insect.

Below are other creatures I saw on the mums yesterday.

img_6233

img_6237

img_6239

img_6266

img_6258

Above are various flies and moths that I captured in pictures on the mums.  Some were too small or fast moving to catch.  There was one giant bumble bee near the geraniums that moved to quickly to catch in a photo.

img_6315

I noticed that there were tiny insects on the nasturtium flowers, too.  The nasturtiums have really been beautiful this fall.

img_6395

 I took a little time yesterday to use twisty ties to attach the raspberry vines to the fence.  Earlier in the summer I cut off this years vines when they had finished producing fruit.  Now the vines that grew this year will have raspberries next year.

img_5931

 In early October I noticed a lot of aphids on the swamp milkweed plants.  I wondered what predator would come to feast on them.

img_6200

Yesterday I saw a half dozen lady bugs running up and down the branches of the milkweed, without an aphid in sight.  I love it when these beneficial insects take care of the problem with no cost to me or harm to the environment.

img_6154

I will throw in a picture from a walk at the Little Red Schoolhouse path in the forest preserve last week.

img_6151

The yellow and orange leaves of this sassafras tree caught my attention.  There was a little stand of sassafras trees, which is not that common in this neck of the woods.

Back to another week of work, but I really enjoyed getting out in the autumn colors this weekend!

13 thoughts on “Fall Insect Life

  1. Great pictures! I guess I’ve been blind to all the hardy mums around the neighborhood until lately. They’re practically the only thing left attracting insects. Starting to think I need to plant some next year in my few bright spots.

    • I don’t have a macro lens, which makes it a challenge. I had to get pretty close until my camera focused on the insect instead of the background. I have got a lot to learn to be able to do this better!

Leave a Reply

