Spring Day In January

I know we may still have a blizzard to two this winter, but today was in the high fifties and I was outside with just a hooded sweatshirt.

img_6854

Here is one of several groups of crocuses that have emerged from the ground.  These are snow crocuses and have the smallest flowers.

img_6844

The mini daffodils are emerging along with weeds on the south side of the back fence.

img_6841

I checked on the praying mantis sac that I moved on to the fence behind the ornamental grass last fall.

img_6837

This kale looks like it will make it through the winter, though some of the stalks of kale look ready for the compost pile.

img_6842

Looking into the neighbor’s yard it looks like he has put out some lettuce, hoping to attract a female rabbit to make her home under his deck and give him some baby bunnies to watch.  Of course, this is the opposite of what I am hoping for as they tend to squeeze into our side of the fence where the food is more plentiful in the garden.  But I am glad my neighbor likes wildlife….

img_6817

The moss continues to spread through the rocks.

img_6815

I had to pause to look at these leave on a gaillardia plant.

img_6809

I have to admit that creeping Charlie is my worst garden enemy, and it seems to love this weather.  I can’t let it stress me out.

img_6859

Most of the year the rhubarb leaves are covering this stepping stone, but not today.  I did see a few real insects flying around this afternoon, but did not manager to get any photos.

img_6875

My rabbit loving neighbor feeds the birds as well, and the squirrel was taking advantage of the dropped seeds.

img_6781

Black-capped chickadee in the spice bush.

img_6865

Starlings on the utility line.

img_6776

I am throwing in a shot of a tufted titmouse I saw near the Little Red Schoolhouse on January 8th.

img_6788

I will end with a shot from Lake Katherine where three of us took a beautiful morning walk.

Leave a Reply

