Spring Bulbs, Waterfowl, and a Snake

After some snow last week the weather warmed up again and it is feeling like spring.

IMG_7071

Cheery crocuses

IMG_7217

Mini daffodils

IMG_7073

Rhubarb emerging last week.  Already the leaves are much bigger today.

IMG_7092

I heard reports of common loons in our area on their way north and I went to the Sagahashkee Slough to see if I could spot any.  It was a cloudy day and I did not see loons, but enjoyed watching other waterfowl.

IMG_7084

There were maybe 40- 50 American coots on the west end of the slough.  A fisherman was seeing what he could catch, but he told me he had not caught any fish.

IMG_7193 American coots

IMG_7169

I spent a while trying to get a picture of this guy, that I think is a horned grebe with breading plumage.

IMG_7165.JPG

Another view of the male horned grebe.

IMG_7112

I wondered if this could be the female or a juvenile as it seemed nearby without the yellow head plumage.  It was continually diving for food.

IMG_7130

By the lake I came across a rugged path along the south side of the slough that I will have to come back and explore with Dan some time.  I continue to be amazed at how many places there are still for us to explore for the first time in the Palos forest preserves.

IMG_7098

Unidentified seed heads by the lake.

IMG_7150

Mosses on tree trunk

IMG_7178

There was a large patch of little blue flowers by the side of the path.

IMG_7182

As I walked along the path I just about stepped on this little garter snake.  It was maybe 15 inches long.  I poked the tail very gently with a stick to try to get it to move out of my way.

IMG_7192

It curled up and showed me its red tongue, but I had more room to get by.  I like how this picture captures the design.

IMG_7207

I drove to Maple lake to see if there might be loons there, but it was hard to get close enough to the birds and my camera battery was dying.  I managed to get a picture of a red-breasted merganser couple.

I was going to end with a short video of a muskrat at Lake Katherine, but I am having trouble getting it to upload, so maybe another time….

2 thoughts on “Spring Bulbs, Waterfowl, and a Snake

Leave a Reply

