Blueberries, Birds, and Wildflowers

Spring just keeps progressing day after day.  Plants are blooming and birds are migrating in.

IMG_7576

Duke Blueberry.  Just when I had sort of given up on getting many blueberries in the garden we had a lot of blossoms this year.

IMG_7599

The little Top Hat Blueberry was full of blossoms, too.  We will see if the blueberries turn out well.  These blueberry pictures are from about two weeks ago.

IMG_7693

Today all the strawberries are blooming.  I went around to try to put some straw under each plant to keep the berries out of the dirt.  I can also see that we are going to have a bumper crop of serviceberries before long, so I am looking forward to berry season.

IMG_7601

Common Lilac.  This photo was taken about two weeks ago, but the lilacs have been pretty for a long time, since it has been cool the past two weeks.

IMG_7605.JPGI never got good pictures of the crabapple blossoms this year.  It seemed to rain right after they opened, or I must have been busy….

Last weekend I took a few bird shots when we walked around Lake Katherine.

IMG_7584

Female mallard on log in pond

IMG_7587

Great blue heron

IMG_7592

The end of April seemed pretty early to see goslings, but we had some warm weather early in the spring.

IMG_7595

Fluffy gosling

IMG_7610

Back in our yard the Chinquapin oak tree is full of catkins.  Can you see the palm warbler in the tree?

IMG_7606

I tried to zoom in a little on the palm warbler.

IMG_7618

Here the palm warbler is looking for a bug snack among the strawberry and anemone plants.

IMG_7704

The dwarf fothergilla bush is in bloom now.

IMG_7616And there is the palm warbler again next to the fothergilla bush.

IMG_7686

There are a lot of little brown birds like this in the yard.  It could be just a house sparrow or it could be some wonderful migrating bird.  I have not had much time to get out and observe, but even going outside for 5 or 10 minutes can be rewarding.  I had heard the goldfinch song in the yard and today I saw the yellow bird for the first time this year.

IMG_7670

I was sitting listening to an unfamiliar bird song this morning way up in a tall tree and then I saw the orange color.  A Baltimore Oriole was busy singing and getting some kind of food from the top of this tree.

IMG_7674

It was so much fun to watch this Baltimore Oriole from my patio.

IMG_7692

The kale and romaine lettuce have been in the ground for 2 weeks.  There is a frost warming for tonight, but it looks like 37 degrees, which I think is fine in my yard.  I put up the bean pole structure and am waiting for the soil to warm up to plant pole beans.  You can see the mound of rhubarb in the back.  I made rhubarb sauce for the first time this season today.  I think my tomato and pepper plants should be coming from Seed Savers in the mail some time this week….

IMG_7698.JPG

Huechera ‘plum pudding’

IMG_7701

I threw some dwarf sunflower seeds in the meadow a week or two ago and was very excited to see they sprouted.  Can’t wait for these small sunflowers.

IMG_7689

Dark blue salvia is blooming next to the yarrow that will start up soon.

Yesterday our family went for a walk in the forest preserves.  I was looking forward to seeing spring wildflowers.  I did, but they were different from the ones I saw a few weeks ago.

IMG_7643

Dodecatheon meadia Shooting Star wildflower in the Cap Sauers Holdings of the Palos Forest Preserve.

IMG_7657.JPG

I am not sure what this is, but it was pretty.  No need to know the name, really.  We can just enjoy the beauty!

4 thoughts on “Blueberries, Birds, and Wildflowers

    • Lilacs have such a wonderful fragrance, and the lily of the valley are in bloom now, too, with a nice fragrance. Each place has its own special plants, but I know how you could miss lilacs!

Leave a Reply

