Swallowtails, Hummingbirds And Other Flying Creatures

This time of year it is fun to see the variety of pollinators that visit the garden.  The eastern tiger swallowtail butterfly posed nicely for me, but it is always a challenge to get good hummingbird pictures.

IMG_9849Eastern tiger swallowtail butterfly on zinnia

IMG_9817This eastern tiger swallowtail hung out with wings open quite a bit making it easier to photograph and to identify it as a male butterfly by its markings.   Dill flowers were blooming behind the zinnias.

IMG_9882

I think this is a question mark butterfly sunning on the fence.  It looks a little tattered.  I took a picture of another one a few weeks ago.

IMG_9892

I was trying to capture this monarch butterfly on the milkweed, but the camera wanted to focus on the trunk of the crabapple tree.

IMG_9677

Here is another attempt to get a shot of the monarch fluttering above the milkweed.  I love the colorful outdoor flower arrangement of this shot!

IMG_9683

The hummingbird competes with the butterflies for the same flowers.  Here it chased away the monarch butterfly and is enjoying the swamp milkweed.

IMG_9867

The hummingbird enjoys the neighbors’ hibiscus flowers.

IMG_9865

Here the camera caught the fast-moving hummingbird, but it is at the edge of the picture….

IMG_9687Hummingbird on garden fence.  I think I have mostly seen females.

IMG_9798

We don’t have a hummingbird feeder, but the neighbors on both sides do.  We just offer flower nectar….

IMG_9690

Hummingbird on Russian sage.

IMG_9651

I took this picture of the hummingbird visiting the coleus plant from the office window.  Later, while sitting on the patio, I watched a hummingbird check out every single white flower on the coleus plant before moving on.

IMG_9701

Hummingbird on white phlox.  Most of my pictures are kind of blurry like this, as I have to shoot quickly when the hummingbird shows up before it moves on.

IMG_9668

Wasps have taken up residence in the open fence posts around the garden this summer. They are good predators, but I keep out of their way.

IMG_9855

Wasp resting on hickory leaf

IMG_9743

A green dragonfly rests on a turnip leaf.  I am a dragonfly fan!

IMG_9852

Bee on coneflower.  Many kinds of bees are in the garden now.

IMG_9874

I have seen a few grasshoppers and crickets, but I am keeping my eyes open for a praying mantis, which I have not seen this year.

IMG_9747

The invasive viburnum leaf beetles are back.  They lay their eggs in the branches and in the spring the larvae will start chewing on the leaves.

IMG_9765.JPG

Last summer we cut these two Chicago Lustre viburnum bushes to the ground, but did not have the energy to dig out the roots, so they grew back quickly and have looked nice this year, but the beetle issue is not going away, so maybe next year we will find some other plants to replace them, or maybe not….

If you got through all this pictures you must like flying creatures!  I will leave my other bird pictures for another post!

8 thoughts on “Swallowtails, Hummingbirds And Other Flying Creatures

    • I think it is good to just relax and enjoy nature around us, but I am always wanting to take pictures… It is a habit and a challenge! Yesterday I forced myself to just really enjoy watching the hummingbird and not to think about my camera.

Leave a Reply

