Fall Walks, Birds, and Butterflies

The weather stayed nice and unseasonably warm through today, when the rain and cooler weather seems to be moving in.  I was able to go on a number of beautiful fall walks this past week.

IMG_0773

Fall colors at Lake Katherine

IMG_0827

There were two pairs of mute swans at Lake Katherine this morning.

IMG_0822

The nuts were abundant on the bald cypress trees.

IMG_0831.JPG

Our little bitternut hickory tree in the front yard continues to grow more each year and it turned very yellow today.  You can see that the neighbor’s autumn blaze maple behind it is just getting ready to turn color.

IMG_0623

On Wednesday I had the day off and I went for a walk at the Little Red Schoolhouse in the Palos Forest Preserve.  The hickories were turning color, but most of the color was fairly muted.

IMG_0664

The temperature was in the mid-70s, so I sat down in the sun across from the prairie and soaked up the sun and the quietness.  The big oak trees were still very green.

IMG_0663

A large grasshopper was walking in circles in the grass at my feet….  So many different and complicated insects in the world, eating and being eaten.

IMG_0659

Nearby a migrating white-crowned sparrow looked for a snack.

IMG_0700

I spent some time in the shelter observing birds.  Another more experienced birder came along and she confirmed some of my sightings.

IMG_0715

I thought I had take pictures of a group of eastern bluebirds and she confirmed that was true.  I have not seen eastern bluebirds for a while, so that was rewarding.

IMG_0734

A great blue heron and a double-crested cormorant each found a resting spot on top of the solar array in the middle of the slough.  It was a very beautiful day.

IMG_0747

Back home in our yard two painted lady butterflies have been hanging out at the zinnias all week.

IMG_0751

A variety of other moths and butterflies spend the day on the flowers that are still blooming.

IMG_0764

I was struck by the two designs that meet in this picture.

IMG_0617.JPG

A week ago I took this picture of a goldfinch munching on the dried coneflowers in the garden.

IMG_0618

Pulling back you can see the little goldfinch on the messy coneflowers.  This is the view from our kitchen window.  This is the time of year to clean up the yard and get ready for winter.  I am always having a conversation in my mind about what messy plants to leave for the birds and insects and what clean up to do now to make it easier in the spring.  Some years I clean up more and some years I leave more mess!

2 thoughts on “Fall Walks, Birds, and Butterflies

Leave a Reply

