Autumn Wanderings

When I get a chance I get out in the forest preserves to enjoy the autumn days.  Even with the snow on Friday the oak leaves are still hanging on.  Here are a few shots from the past two weeks.

IMG_0924

Reflections in the pond at the Little Red Schoolhouse.

IMG_0935

Turning to face the other way I could see an oak savanna with a stately, magnificent oak.  I love it when I see that young oak trees have been planted to replace many of the ancient oaks around us.

IMG_0929

I stopped to read an old sign by the trail about hibernation.

IMG_0987

My walk eventually lead me by the original little red schoolhouse.  It has now been replaced by a beautiful new building that better meets the needs of nature field trips.  In the background you can see several doomed roofs of cages that house birds.  Maybe these are birds that have been rehabilitated or cannot survive in the wild for some reason.

IMG_0974

There were a lot of little kids out enjoying the day.  This little girl climbed the fence to get a glimpse of the hawk in the cage.

IMG_0975

Red-tailed hawk, the most common hawk in our area.

IMG_0973.JPG

The orange serviceberry leaves were so pretty!

IMG_0972.JPG

The big surprise was the working phone booth.  The sign inside says that the phone actually works and to dial 911 if needed.

IMG_0964

I flushed out a lot of little birds when I walked down this prairie trail.

IMG_0953

Everywhere the oaks were turning orange, yellow and red.

IMG_0942

A late dragonfly was enjoying a warm rock.  I slowly brought my finder under the dragonfly’s head.  It sat on my finger for a while, but flew away before I got a picture.

IMG_0845

Two weeks ago Dan and I walked in the Willow Springs forest preserve for the first time.  We keep finding trails that are new for us.

IMG_0842

This looks like a den that would provide shelter for some animal….

IMG_0854

On November 1st I parked by Arrowhead Lake in the forest perverse south of us. It was a gray day, but the walk turned out to be beautiful anyway.

IMG_0863

I crossed Harlem Avenue to explore a new path I had not tried before.

IMG_0875.JPG

The woods were very quite except for the woodpeckers.

IMG_0884

Downy woodpecker

IMG_0897

The colors caught my attention as I walked out.  Maybe you had to be there….

IMG_0904

Back in our yard the aphids, or something, completely covered the kale plants.  I did see a few lady bugs around.  Sometimes the kale makes it through the winter and sometimes it doesn’t.  In any case I look forward to a swarm of lady bugs and other predators in the spring.

IMG_0909

On a more cheery note, the pineapple sage was blooming on November 1st.  I never saw any hummingbirds on it this year, as it did not start blooming until October.  We had a hard frost this week, though, and it’s days are over…

IMG_0991

It snowed some on Friday, for the first time this year, and stuck for a few hours. The chinquapin oak is just changing color this week and still has its leaves.  The crab apple lost most of its leaves back in June with some disease, so I need to try to get rid of those diseased leaves from under the tree.

Compost leaf pile:  We dug out some of the compost from the bottom of the pile, and started a new leaf pile yesterday.  We used the mower to mulch the leaves on the lawn and captured them in the mower bag that we carried to the leaf pile.  Dan even went out in the easement and mowed up those leaves, too, to make the leaf pile about three and a half feet high.  When the leaves are mixed with grass clippings they get hot pretty quickly.  We will do this the next few weekends and try to get the pile as large as possible before winter.  Then I can put my kitchen scraps in the pile until it is too frozen to get them in!

4 thoughts on “Autumn Wanderings

Leave a Reply

