Lake Katherine Reflections and a Raptor

Yesterday morning I had a quiet walk around Lake Katherine in Palos Heights.

IMG_8729

The still water reflected the trees and the clouds.

IMG_8740

It was a cold morning and the mute swans seemed to be sleeping with occasional grooming.

IMG_8741

Mute swan

IMG_8743

Mute swan

IMG_8713

There were not many people out, but two women were laughing and taking picutres on the bridge at the pond surrounded by cypress trees in autumn colors.

IMG_8719

Water is high in the pond this year.

IMG_8720.JPG

I see that invasive phragmites are taking root in the pond.

IMG_8669

When I first arrived at the lake it was birdy and I was trying, mostly unsuccessfully, to take pictures of white-breasted nuthatches, cardinals, downy woodpeckers, goldfinches, and some unknow sparrows.

IMG_8686

Then I noticed a red-tailed hawk land in a nearby tree.

IMG_8703.JPG

After a while it flew over to another tree.  Can you see it?

IMG_8694

I got a closer look at this predator.  I wondered if he had already had his breakfast or was hunting.

IMG_8698

Here is a view of the back feathers.  I understand that red-tailed hawks don’t get red tails until they are two years old.  The tail did not appear to be red.

IMG_8702

One more shot of the red-tailed hawk.  can you see the yellow at the base of the beak?

IMG_8751

Other than the swans there were only mallards in the lake.  There was plenty of quacking.  The geese must have already flown away for the day before I arrived.

IMG_8674.JPG

Duck getting breakfast.

IMG_8727

Parts of the lake were still frozen.  The temperatures have been swinging above and below the freezing point these past weeks.

IMG_8716

Fungi on a log were covered with a pretty frost.

Books:  I am currently reading Troubled Water: What’s Wrong with What We Drink, by Seth Siegel.  Lots of food for thought and a pretty interesting read.  Do you drink water from the tap?  A lot of us don’t trust it.  The book it not out to get villains, but says there are a lot of bystanders.  It is a complicated issue, but a serious one.  I am just on the fourth chapter but I understand more about why no one is taking action to solve the problem, which is getting worse each year. (I think it might involve taxes and getting re-elected.)  I am looking forward to what suggestions and solutions I will find in the book.

IMG_8757

4 thoughts on “Lake Katherine Reflections and a Raptor

Leave a comment