January 1, 2020

Happy New Year!

IMG_8957

Snow Crocus emerges.

I first noticed this snow crocus on Christmas Day, which is the earliest I have seen it appear.

IMG_8960

Daytime moon

IMG_8955.JPG

Dark-eyed junco on liatris.  It looks like it got a seed to nourish it on a winter day.

IMG_8950.JPG

We had about an inch of snow yesterday morning, which should melt today and tomorrow.  It has been a mild winter.

IMG_8949

The cyclamen is blooming for the fifteenth year!  This autumn I refinished the wood counter in my greenhouse window.

IMG_8931.JPG

We started the new year with a wonderful hike at Cranberry Slough in the forest preserve.  The trail was icy, but not slippery, and the only person we met was riding a bike.

IMG_8911

One last shot to say goodbye to 2019. Mute swans flying over Lake Katherine last weekend. 

8 thoughts on “January 1, 2020

  1. Donna Hirsch

    Happy New Year!  But I think it’s a cyclamen, not a clematis.  Great record for blooming!!!!  Do you summer it outdoors? Donna Litt

    1. Oh yeah.. senior moment! I corrected it now. Yes, I put the pot outside each summer on the north side of the house, where it generally looks dead, and make sure it gets enough water. Each fall I wonder if I will bring it back inside and I always do. It is cheery this time of year.

Leave a comment